Almost everyone is on Instagram now. If you block someone on Instagram will they know is on many users mind. It is one of the most popular social media apps in the world. However, some of its features are challenging for some people.
Short answer is yes, if you block someone on Instagram they will know. They know because they can’t access your profile anymore. You can’t load the profile of the person who blocked you or find the username in search.
One of Instagram‘s features that needs a deep understanding is the feature to block someone. If you don’t really understand how to use the feature, you may not get the privacy you want on this app. That’s why you need to know what happens when you block someone on Instagram. We will guide you to learn the details about this feature in this post.
Now let’s see what happens when you block someone on Instagram.
What happens when you block someone on Instagram?
The following things happen when you block someone on Instagram.
1. If you block someone on Instagram, you will not see their messages in any mutual group chats
If you block someone in a chat group on Instagram, that person will not be blocked or removed from the group. However, unlike Whatsapp where you can still chat with the blocked person in a group, you can’t do this on Instagram. When you blocked someone in an Instagram group chat, you won’t be able to see any messages from this person in the group chat. You will be able to see their chats in the group again after you unblock this person.
2. If you block someone, they cannot see your Instagram profile
When you block someone on Instagram, they will no longer be able to view your profile. But your profile will still be visible to them for a few hours if it is saved in their cache. And also, the person you blocked will not be able to see your followers, who you’re following, and your posts.
3. Your private chat (DM) with that person will disappear
The person you blocked on Instagram will no longer be able to see the chat history (DM) with you if there was any. But the DMs will reappear when you unblock them.
The same thing happens on your side. You won’t be able to see direct messages with the person you blocked unless you unblock them.
However, you can still view old messages you shared with the person you blocked. You can even send new messages to them from the Send Message option from their profile. You can do this by opening the profile page of the person you blocked from the previous tags and comments. Click on the three dots and select Send Message from the menu.
Be noticed that when you use the above method, Instagram won’t send any notification to the person you blocked about the received message. So it is useless if you send a message to inform them about something. But you can use it to view your old DMs with them. All your chat history with them will reappear after you unblock them.
Also, if you share a group chats with the person you blocked, you still can send and receive group messages. You or the person you blocked will not be removed from the group.
4. Your posts, likes, and comments will not be visible
If you block someone on Instagram, they won’t be able to see your comments. They will be able to see your comments again once you unblock them.
The person’s comments and likes will also disappear from you once you blocked them, as well as their direct messages. You can’t even visit their profile unless they’re in your search bar history. If you have it as a cache, it may be visible for a few hours before disappearing completely.
When you block someone on Instagram, that person won’t be able to access your profile. Also, you won’t be able to see your stories, posts, or comments that you posted under that person’s post.
5. The person you blocked can’t tag you on Instagram
When you block someone on Instagram, they can still tag you by your username. However, you will not receive any notifications about it. Also, if you change your username, this person won’t be able to tag you anymore.
How do you block someone on Instagram who has already blocked you?
If you want to block someone who has already blocked you, you should do so straight away. You still have DMs, profile access, and so on in your cache a few hours after they block you. But once your history disappears, you won’t be able to access their profile to block them. Below are ways to find access to the profile of someone who has blocked you:
- Use the search bar to find them.
- Find them in mutual groups if there are any.
- Send them direct messages.
- If you had saved any of their posts, find them on your saved posts.
- Find them using their comments and likes.
How to block someone from commenting on your Instagram posts only?
You can decide which users are permitted to leave comments and which are not. Here’s how to manage comments restrictions on Instagram:
- Launch your Instagram app.
- Tap the Profile icon in the bottom-right corner to access your profile.
- Tap the three-lined or three-dots icon in the upper right corner.
- Select Privacy and Security.
- Select Comment Controls and manage your comments restriction.